If you’re an existing user of Time Clock MTS using a version prior to Version 6 and you’re currently using Version 1, 2, 3 or 4 then there’s a warning you should keep in mind. If you’re currently using Time Clock MTS Version 5 you do not need to worry.
The first time you run Time Clock MTS after upgrading changes are made to YOUR time clock data. After the changes are made your time clock data cannot be used with earlier versions of the software.
Precaution Prior to Upgrading
Backup YOUR time clock database BEFORE upgrading. You can do this via the Time Clock MTS Tools menu or by speaking to your time clock administrator.
At least then if you decide that the latest version of our timeclock system is not for you then you can just downgrade to the earlier version and restore your time clock data backup if needed.
After Installing the Time Clock MTS Version 6 Upgrade
After you’ve installed the Time Clock MTS Version 6 Upgrade you’ll get one more chance to back out. The first time you run the software after upgrading you’ll see this screen:
I’ve Upgraded and Used Version 6 But I Want to Go Back To an Earlier Version
If you want to go back to an earlier version of Time Clock MTS (perhaps you saved your original installation files) then you’re going to have to restore the data backup you made BEFORE upgrading to Time Clock MTS Version 6. You did make a backup didn’t you? If you didn’t then your data file will simply not work in the earlier version.
But any data you’ve recorded in Time Clock MTS Version 6 while evaluating it will be lost.
Remember that WE DO NOT KEEP A COPY OF YOUR TIME CLOCK DATA so if you fail to backup your data prior to upgrading then you’re not going to be able to roll back to an earlier version.